The Halsbury Legal Awards 2016 :: About the Awards
Latest News :


About Us
The Halsbury Legal Awards were created to celebrate excellence in law across the entire legal profession and they underpin the values that the whole legal community embodies. Our unique event brings together some of the highest valued firms, chambers and individuals in the law.

Who Should Enter
The Awards are open to organisations and individuals working in the legal sector, ranging from law firms, to legal support services, and legal journalists. If you are working for a law firm, legal support services or set of chambers, or you are involved in legal journalism or the promotion or development of law organisations then these are the awards for you. Our categories are extensive, so please take a look and enter into those that you feel apply to you. Alternatively you can contact us and we'll be happy to offer guidance.

Individual Awards

For the individual awards the judges are looking for someone who is indisputably a leader in their field. They will normally have a high level of technical ability coupled with an impressive record of achievement, often including thought-leadership in their specialist area. Professionalism and high ethical standards are also required attributes.

Team Awards

Above all, the judges will be looking for clear and specific evidence of teamwork and signs of how the team has found a way to achieve the excellence for which the award is given, such as offering an exceptional service to clients by adding extra value and bringing a competitive advantage to the firm or company.

This year's period under review is June 2015 - June 2016. All entries and support material should reflect this time period.

How to Enter & Costs
All entries must be made through our online forms*. Each category has its own specified criteria, but each will require a 750 word statement. Support materials can be used to underpin the strength of your entry and can include third party evidence such as testimonials, surveys, independent press coverage, external recognition (awards, recommendations etc).

All categories are free to enter, so you will only need to pay for your attendance at the awards ceremony.
About the Shortlist
The shortlist will be announced on 04 July online and directly to the shortlisted entrants. Please note that we are unable to give feedback on nominations.
*Please note that the award categories listed below are not open for entry or nomination. The winners will be nominated and agreed by the judges and announced on the night of the award ceremony.
Rule of Law Award
Award for Academic Contribution
Legal Personality of the Year
Lifetime Contribution Award
Join in the conversation
  • Sponsored by
  • Sponsored by
  • Sponsored by
  • Sponsored by
  • Sponsored by
  • Sponsored by
  • Sponsored by
  • In association with
  • Sponsored by
  • Sponsored by
  • Sponsored by